Direct Phone numbers for:
PROPERTY TAX REIMBURSEMENT PROGRAM-PROPERTY TAX FREEZE 1-800-882-6597
HOMESTEAD REBATE 1-800-323-4400
OFFICE OF THE BRIELLE BOROUGH TAX COLLECTOR
The mission of the Tax Collectors Office is to adhere to the responsibilities of billing, collection, reporting and enforcement of property taxes and other municipal charges such as water/sewer payments.
As a statutory office of the State of New Jersey, the tax collector is obligated to follow all of the State Statutes regarding property tax collection.
Property tax bills are mailed once a year in July and contain 4 quarterly payment coupons. Taxes are due Feb. 1, May 1, Aug 1, and Nov. 1.
The Borough of Brielle does grant a 10-day grace period.
If the tax bills are mailed late, the due date is extended 25 days after the date of mailing and there will be NO grace period.
NJSA 54:4-66 states interest is retroactive to the original due date. The State of New Jersey DOES NOT accept postmarks, taxes must be received in our office on or before the 10th by close of business.
NJSA 54:4-64 states Failure to receive a tax bill does not exempt you from paying taxes or delinquent interest on taxes, it is the property owner’s responsibility to ascertain from the proper official (Tax Collector) the amount due. If you have lost your bill, or your bill was lost in the mail, please call the tax office to obtain the amount due and to request a copy of your bill. You may also view your amount due and print a copy of your bill HERE.
If you receive an “advice only” statement but do not have a mortgage company, use this statement to pay your taxes, and notify the tax office to take the bank code off your account.
Payments may be made by mail, online or in person. To make a payment online please go to our website www.briellenj.com and click the online payments circle on the left-hand side (pay your taxes and utilities here) this is a one-time payment and there is a fee for using your credit card or checking account.
The Borough of Brielle offers direct debit for taxes (and/or water and sewer). There is no fee for this service. Taxes (and/or water/sewer) are direct debited from your account during the grace period for the due date. Use this link to download DIRECT DEBIT APPLICATION, Your application must be received no later than 10 days prior to the due date.
**Please note: this authorization remains in effect, even after transfer of ownership, until the Borough is notified by the applicant of its termination in writing.
If you make a payment using bill pay from your bank realize it is not electronic and please allow 7-10 days for delivery.
If you wish a receipt and pay by mail, include the entire bill and a self-addressed stamped envelope with your payment. Please do not postdate your checks. We are unable to hold them as New Jersey statutes require payments to be deposited within 48 hours of receipt.
The Collector is responsible for billing and collection of taxes only. Assessment questions should be directed to the Tax Assessor, Scott Imbriaco: 732-528-6600 ext. 5116.
DEDUCTIONS AVAILABLE THROUGH TAX COLLECTOR/ASSESSOR:
VETERANS DEDUCTION-RESTRICTIONS APPLY
SENIOR CITIZEN AND DISABLED PERSONS DEDUCTION-RESTRICTIONS APPLY
FORMS ARE AVAILABLE AT THE TAX COLLECTOR’S OFFICE
|Tina McDermott||(732) 528-6600 ext. 5115|