Form of Government

Brielle operates under a municipal form of government composed of six council members and a mayor, all elected directly by the voters. Council members are elected to three year terms. Each year two seats are up for election. The mayor is elected to a four-year term. The mayor votes only to break a tie. Thus the term, "Strong council, weak mayor", applies to this form of government. The mayor makes official appointments with advice and consent of the council. The council reorganizes itself each year, electing a president and assigning committee responsibilities.